Lifetime Award

The annual ULI Chicago Lifetime Achievement Award celebrates an industry leader who has made an indelible mark on the Chicago real estate community.

Lifetime Award

The ULI Chicago Lifetime Achievement Award was established to recognize leaders in Chicago’s real estate community whose contributions to real estate – and to civic, charitable and philanthropic endeavors – exemplify the spirit and mission of ULI. Now in its 21st year, the annual Awards event supports the many programs and initiatives coordinated by the District Council.

Past Lifetime Achievement Award recipients include Marshall Bennett, the late Charles Shaw, Lester Crown, John Buck, and Eugene Golub among many other leaders in the industry.

Nomination Process

The Lifetime Achievement Award honors an individual whose achievements throughout his or her lifetime exemplify personal and professional contributions to the real estate industry and to the community.

Nominees should be an industry professional from the Chicagoland area. Qualified candidates need not be a ULI member. The criterion for the award is a lifetime of professional, personal and civic commitments to the real estate profession and to our community at large.  Nominations are solicited from the ULI Chicago membership only.  The nomination period for 2015 is now closed.

The 21st annual Lifetime Achievement Award Dinner will take place on December 3, 2015, Four Season Hotel Chicago.

Past Recipients

Neil G. Bluhm, Founder and President, JMB Realty Corporation; Founder and Managing Principal, Walton Street Capital, LLC

Penny Pritzker, Secretary of Commerce, U.S. Department of Commerce

Eugene Golub, Founder and Chairman, Golub & Company LLC

John A. Buck, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, The John Buck Company

John S. Gates, Jr., Chairman and CEO, PortaeCo, LLC
Chairman of the Board, Regional Transportation Authority (RTA)

James R. Loewenberg, Co-chief Executive Officer, Magellan Development Group

Richard A. Hanson, Principal and Founder, Mesa Development, LLC

Norman R. Bobins, Chairman Emeritus, LaSalle Bank Corporation

Robert A. Wislow, Chairman and CEO, U.S. Equities Realty

Douglas Crocker II, Chairman and CIO, Transwestern Multifamily Partners, LLC and former CEO, Equity Residential

Stuart L. Scott, Jones Lang LaSalle

Richard A. Stein, Mesirow Stein Real Estate, Inc.

the late Matthew Bucksbaum, General Growth Properties, Inc.

Edward R. James, Edward R. James Partners, LLC
Kenneth J. James, Kenneth James Builders, LLC

the late William A. Alter, The Alter Group

Lester Crown, Material Service Corporation

the late Richard J. Brown, Cambridge Homes

the late Charles H. Shaw, The Shaw Company

the late Bernard Weissbourd, Metropolitan Structures

Marshall Bennett, Marshall Bennett Enterprises